Seaway Athletes recognized, Douma, Morrow, Thompson are top athletes


Ryan Douma, Michaela Morrow and Jessica Thompson were named Seaway District High’s top athletes for the 2011/12 school year at the annual Sports Banquet held last Thursday night.

It was the second consecutive year, that Morrow and Douma were named the school’s top athletes, and they were joined by Thompson who was named co-winner of the top female athlete with Morrow.

In addition to the overall win, Douma was named senior boys basketball MVP by coach Julie Iwachniuk and senior boys basketball MVP by coach Trevor Thompson.

Morrow was selected the senior girls basketball MVP by coach Mark Lewis and Thompson was selected this year’s track and field MVP by Trevor Thompson. In addition, Thompson was presented the Nathan Last Award of Excellence by figure skating coach Sharon Last.

“Both girls participated in multiple sports and both were integral members of their teams,” said Trevor Thompson as he announced this year’s winners. “Both will be missed at Seaway.”

Leading up to the presentation to Douma, Thompson said, “a top athlete must not be just an athlete who participates, but one who excels and one who his teammates look up. Ryan played his heart out this year on the court and on the field.”

Each year at Seaway, individuals are selected to receive the prestigious Irv Francis Award, which is an award that recognizes “excellence in athletics, academics and sportsmanship.”

This year two athletes shared the award. Both excelled in academics with over 90 percent averages, both excelled in athletics and both demonstrated sportsmanship. This year’s winners were Monty Hamadi and Leah Wells.

Cross Country MVP–Greg Bolton

Cross Country–Perseverance-Sarah Dicky

Golf MVPs–Brandon St. Louis & Jessica Whitteker

Badminton MVPs–Midget Zach Frawley; Junior Sam Venema & Victoria Peters; Senior Larissa Beaupre.

Tennis MVP–Stephanie Venema.

Soccer MVPs–Juniors Liam Coombes and Maggie Perry; Seniors Eric Saddlemire and Leah Wells. Senior Boys Most Dedicated was Randy Dougherty.

Curling MVPs–Sam Decker & Alice Cameron

Figure Skating–Nathan Last Award of Excellence Jessica Thompson. Coaches Award–Ali VanHoof and Alice Cameron.

Volleyball–Midget Girls Michaela Davidson; Junior Girls Most Improved Alison Lee; Junior Girls MVP Maggie Perry and Casey McNairn. Senior Girls Volleyball MVP– Olivia Currier; Sportsmanship Leah Wells.

Junior Boys–MVP Liam Coombes; Senior MVP Ryan Douma.

Basketball–Junior girls MVP Jessica Hartle and Tiffany Roskell; Senior girls MVP Michaela Morrow; Junior Boys MVP Luke Strader; Senior Boys MVP Ryan Douma.

Track and Field–MVP Jessica Thompson; Rookie of the Year Riley Barry.

Hockey-MVPs goaltenders Josh Martineau, Zach Frawley and Megan VanAllen

Hockey-Coaches award-Vicki VanHoof and Josh Martineau


Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply