Iroquois Legion hands out twenty Remembrance Day contest awards

 More than twice as many students participated in the 2012 Iroquois Legion Remembrance Day poster and literary contest than the previous year, and the winners received their awards at a small ceremony January 6 in the Iroquois Legion’s museum.

Dave Weedmark, youth and education chair with Iroquois Legion Branch 370 hosted the event, where the awards were handed out by Ralph Martin, acting president.

Twenty branch awards were handed out to the best entries among the 89 received from the schools in Iroquois, and those winners were forwarded on to the zone level.

At the zone level, three students were awarded prizes. At the zone level, Dani Shae Barkley’s black and white poster placed third in the senior division, Kitana Millward’s colour poster placed third in the intermediate division and Darci Dodge’s poem placed third in the junior division.

At the branch level, Maeryn Gilmour won the primary colour poster contest, Leo Vezina was second and Keaton Urquhart was third.

Harley Heustis won the junior black and white poster contest. Nicholas Howard was second and Bryce St. Pierre was third.

The junior colour poster contest was won by Jamie Wilson, with Aria Whisselle placing second and Bryanna Whitford third.

Darci Dodge won the junior poem contest. Kurtis Markell was second and Catie Piquette was third.

The intermediate poster contest winners were Grace Barkley (first in black and white), Kitana Millward (first in colour), Abby MacMillan (second in colour) and Matt Backes (third in colour). Dani Shae Barkley won the senior black and white poster contest.

Prize winning intermediate poems were submitted by Kaitlyn Stewart, who won first prize, Jane van Moorsel, who won second prize, and Nathanial Collard, who won third prize.

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply