Sunshine List salary surprises

On March 23rd, the official 2012 Sunshine List was made public, revealing those public sector workers who earned over $100,000 in 2011.

The entire list, which is much too long to be reprinted here, can be found on the Ontario Ministry of Finance website under “Public Sector Salary Disclosure 2012.”

According to government literature, “the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act (1996) makes Ontario’s public sector more open and accountable to taxpayers.”

“The act requires organizations that receive public funding from the Province of Ontario to disclose annually the names, positions, salaries and total taxable benefits of employees paid $100,000 or more in a calendar year.”

“The act applies to organizations such as the Government of Ontario, Crown Agencies, Municipalities, Hospitals, Boards of Public Health, School Boards, Universities, Colleges, Hydro One, Ontario Power Generation, and other public sector employers who receive a significant level of funding from the provincial government.”

The school boards serving South Dundas are the Upper Canada District School Board and the Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario.

The Upper Canada District School Board’s (UCDSB) list included principals and vice-principals from South Dundas. 

Morrisburg Public School Principal Beverley Bethune was listed at $109,025 for 2011. Iroquois Public School Principal Kelty Grant had a 2011 salary of $108,788.87. Two from Seaway District High School were listed: Principal Terry Gardiner at $122,293.19 and Vice Principal Karen Bryan at $106,622.21.

There were a few people listed as UCDSB Superintendents of Education, all of whom made, on average, $157,000 each. Director of Education, David K. Thomas was listed with a 2011 salary of $211,184.22.

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario (CDSBEO) listed St. Mary’s-St. Cecilia’s School Principal Joy Martel at $106,287.70 for 2011.

CDSBEO Director of Education and Secretary, William Gartland was listed with a salary of  $201,758.60 for 2011.

St. Lawrence College’s President and Chief Executive Officer, Chris Whitaker, had a salary of $298,032.05 in 2011. Closer to home, Donald Fairweather, Dean of the Cornwall Campus, was listed with a salary of $139,636.35.

In the medical sphere, there were only seven employees listed for Winchester District Memorial Hospital (WDMH), including two registered nurses. Former Chief Executive Officer Trudy Reid was listed with the highest salary at $218,947.66. Others on the WDMH list included Lynn Hall, Michelle Blouin, Sylvie Forgues-Martel, Sean O’Brien, Fernande Vermeulen, and Gay Campbell.

The Eastern Ontario Health Unit’s (EOHU) Medical Officer of Health and Chief Executive Officer, Paul Roumeliotis, had a salary of $300,449.78 in 2011.

The Champlain Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) listed two Chief Executive Officers: Robert Cushman at $105,549.22 and Alexander Munter at $196,327.07. Chief Information Officer Glenn Alexander had a 2011 total of $187,672.06 while Senior Director of Health and System Accountability Suzanne Dionne was listed with a 2011 total of $171,565.13.

The Ontario Institute for Cancer Research had several employees who made upwards of $300,000 in 2011. President and Chief Scientific Officer Thomas Hudson was listed with a salary of $534,546.60.

Hydro One salaries ranged from just over $100,000 to almost $1,000,000. Laura Formusa, President and Chief Executive Officer for Hydro One had a 2011 salary of $961,963.

Both Hydro One and Ontario Power Generation had several pages each of employees listed making upwards of $100,000. 

Hydro One also had 34 people with salaries in the $200,000 range; approximately five people in the $300,000 range; about four people in the $400,000 range; and one listed with a salary in the $500,000 range.

Ontario Power Generation (OPG) had 15 employees with salaries in the $500,000 to $1,000,000 range. The top salary for OPG in 2011 belonged to William Robinson, Executive Vice President for Business Transformation, who made $972,641.88.

Ontario Power Authority had four employees with salaries over $300,000 in 2011. The top paid employee was Chief Executive Officer Colin Andersen at $573,027.

Carl Isenburg, President and Chief Administrative Officer for the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation, had a 2011 salary of $299,672.44.

There were five employees  from the St. Lawrence Parks Commission listed on the 2012 Sunshine List: Mary Beach, Ronald Betournay, Darren Dalgleish, Dave Dobbie, and Bryan Mercer. The top salary listed was $128,693.47 and belonged to Betournay, Director of Finance and Administration.

In addition to reporting salaries of those employees who met or exceeded a salary of $100,000, the Sunshine List also gave a list of organizations that had “no salaries to disclose.” All employees for companies listed in this category made less than $100,000 in 2011. Two local examples of this are Community Living Dundas County in Morrisburg and Naomi’s Family Resource Centre in Winchester.

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news in your community by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Subscribe to Email Alerts

Enter your email address to subscribe to Email Alerts and receive notifications of new posts by email whenever The Leader publishes new content on our website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply