Iroquois Public School teacher wins Innovation Award

Pictured are Trustee Larry Berry, Superintendent Deanna Perry, Award winner Margaret Grant, IPS Principal Jill Pensa, UCDSB chair John McAllister and Director of Education Stephen Sliwa.

BROCKVILLE – The Upper Canada District School Board recognized excellence on Wednesday, September 25 at the 2019 Trustee Innovation Awards ceremony in Brockville, which took place during the regular Board meeting.

Among this year’s winners was Iroquois Public School’s Grade 6 teacher Margaret Grant.

Grant was recognized in the elementary teacher category for the Iroquois Public School Be the Change Project.

Grant organized the 2018-2019 Be the Change Project with the Grade 6 French immersion class. 

The project focused on the ecological harm done by plastic water bottles and current packaging practices, drawing attention to problems such as the Great Pacific Garbage Patch. 

Through a project that involved letter-writing, persuasive writing, oral presentations, design, and a study of Canadian packaging rules, students learned about the environmental dangers of plastic garbage. 

They also launched a fundraiser that sold environmentally friendly beeswax food wraps as a replacement for plastic wrap. 

The program taught students valuable environmental lessons, instilled entrepreneurial skills, and raised $2,000 to buy a reusable water-bottle filling station. 

The station, meant to reduce the use of plastic water bottles at the school, was installed in early September. The project generated positive media attention for the school and rallied the support of the school community.

Char-Lan District High School’s Green Team, Greg Anderson and Mike Bell of Perth and District Collegiate Institute, and Rockland Public School’s Kindergarten Team also won 2019 UCDSB Trustee Innovation Awards.

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.