‘The Farm’ wins it all in Smiths Falls

SMITHS FALLS – The Farm, a minor baseball team comprised of players from the Williamsburg Pioneers and Winchester Sox teams, took to the ball diamond in Smiths Falls July 19-21 for the annual Gerry Lowe Minor B Wood Bat Tournament.

After losing their first game in round robin play against the Pembroke Pirates, The Farm battled back to win against South Ottawa, and host Smiths Falls Astros.

The Farm met the Pirates in the tournament final on July 21st.

“It was a tight and tense final,” said coach Brian Shaver.

The team was down in the first few innings, but battled back to win the tournament championship 6-5.

Members of The Farm include Brody Buttivant, Reed McCadden, Wyatt Williams, Emmett Lemire, Wyatt Bowers, Beckett Campbell, Kaleb Cunningham, Donovan Shaver, Holden Porteous, Liam Barton, John Nadobny, and Luke LaRussa.

The team is coached by head coach Kevin Williams, Brian Shaver, Clarence Holmes, and Josh LaRussa.

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.