Rookie of the Year for Lions’ Robertson

Morrisburg Jr. C Lions rookie Graham Robertson named league Rookie of the Year – Morrisburg Jr. C Lions’ forward Graham Robertson (center, #23) was named the National Capital Junior Hockey League’s ‘Rookie of the Year’ last week at the league’s annual awards ceremony. The Lions finished off the 2018-19 season with a pair of losses to the Gatineau-Hull Volant. (The Leader/Blancher photo)
NCJHL Rookie of the Year Graham Robertson

VANIER – Morrisburg Lions’ rookie Graham Robertson won the National Capital Junior Hockey League’s ‘Rookie of the Year’ at the end-of-season league awards last weekend.

Robertson, 16, is from Maxville and played for the Alexandria Glens before joining the Lions at the start of the season.

“He’s a great kid,” said Lions’ coach Ken Turnbull. “He stepped up and played any role we’ve asked him to this season.”

Robertson scored eight goals and had 10 assists this season, and was third in points on the Lions’ team.

“He has a terrific compete level and earned his spot playing on the top line of the team,” Turnbull said of Robertson.

Robertson was the only person from the Lions to take home hardware at the league awards. South Grenville Rangers coach Ron Harrison was named the league’s coach of the year, Clarence Castors’ general manager Andre Roy was named executive of the year. Castors’ captain Patrick Lemay is the league’s MVP and also won the best defensive forward award. Castor’s goalie Corey Camirand was named best goaltender.

North Dundas Rockets forward Justin Lefebvre won most improved player, Vankleek Hill Cougars defenceman Keean McEachern won best defenceman. Kevin Howson from the St. Isidore Eagles won most sportsmanlike, and Nathan Bols from the Metcalfe Jets won the Bedard family award for volunteerism.

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.