South Dundas Hockey names top referees


Named as the top referees in the South Dundas Minor Hockey Program for the 2012-13  hockey season are, l-r, Nash Nesbitt,  Steve Martineau and Trevor Flay. Nesbitt was named the Best Rookie Referee and Flay the Most Dedicated. Martineau was honoured with the John Lortie Memorial Trophy for the second time in the seven years he has been refereeing. He was awarded the trophy in his rookie season in 2006-2007. The John Lortie Memorial is awarded annually in memory of John Lortie who passed away in November 2004. John was a 20 year plus veteran of the Morrisburg Fire Department and his second passion was hockey and the local minor hockey association. A lifelong member of the community, John began refereeing in 1985, and worked his way up to a Level 5 Referee. In his more than 20 year involvement with the Minor Hockey Association he refereed, was referee-in-chief and association president in 2000. In addition to his work on the ice, Martineau has been involved with coaching in the South Dundas Association and currently handles the very tough job of Association Ice Scheduler.


Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news in your community by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Subscribe to Email Alerts

Enter your email address to subscribe to Email Alerts and receive notifications of new posts by email whenever The Leader publishes new content on our website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply