Bantam Curlers at Big 4


Dave Dolan reports that our two bantam teams did well in the Big Four bonspiel in Winchester recently. Both advanced to the finals of their draw. Team 1 from Morrisburg, short one player, Sam Decker, and Stephanie and Samantha Venema, narrowly lost their first match against Winchester 6-5, and defeated Metcalfe in the second match to advance to the ‘B’ final. They had to play the other Metcalfe team for the championship, and Metcalfe eked out the win.

Our other team of Emily, Ken and Lina Nishibori, and Emily Byers, defeated Russell 6-1. Some fine shooting by Skip Emily in the second game, removing a rock on the button and under cover, sealed the match against the home team and sent Morrisburg to the ‘A’ championship game. Unfortunately, a tough, experienced squad from Russell managed a win against our people. Well done, all of you. We’re proud to have you in our club.

The Sullivan, another two-team, four-club competition, this time for senior men, was also hosted by Winchester this year. Martin Schneckenburger, Dave King, Andy Patenaude and Jack Barkley met Sid Morrell, Raymond Benoit, Neil Williams and Al Harriman in a playoff. The Morrell foursome won and went to Winchester along with Peter Zeran’s foursome for the bonspiel.

Pete Zeran’s team included Jack Barkley, Karl Duncan and Earl Jeacle. They defeated Winchester in their morning match, but dropped their afternoon game against Metcalfe. 

Sid’s team won their morning match courtesy of the skip’s draw to the button to break a tie against a Metcalfe foursome, after eight ends. That team went on to win the ‘B’ division title after the evening banquet. 

Sid’s afternoon foray was against a Russell quartet, who managed a win, and then won the ‘A’ division title in the evening. The curlers report that it was a good day, with tight competition. Well done, folks!

In league play, the senior men just concluded competition for the Kincaid Trophy. Eric Orgee, Dave King, Karl Duncan and Al Gowanlock finished third, George Rutley, Neil Williams, Robert Martin and Rod McGill finished second, and the winners’ names engraved on the trophy are: Andy Patenaude, Bill Magee, Paul Gunther and the injured Paul Dobry, replaced by Sam Locke. Play has already begun for the Bernie Brunt Trophy, the final draw of the year.

Forty curlers competed Saturday in the Heart and Stroke Bonspiel at Morrisburg, enjoying a great day and raising well over $1,000 for the charity. 

Thanks to Greta McGann for organizing this event again, and for the many others who provided food, prepared the ice, and provided all of the other services that are necessary to make these days a success. Greta also thanked the many businesses who provided prizes to give donors an added incentive to participate.

Congratulations to the Casselman foursome, Jim Casselman, Bill Laurin, Wendy Casselman and Sonia Laurin, who won the first draw. Right behind were Dave King, Laura and Jack Barkley and Becky King. 

In the second draw, Betty Locke, Rick McKenzie, Maurice Kolff and Jim Locke took top honours, with Sam, Parker, Paula and Claire Locke one point behind them. 

It was great to see members of many leagues participating, as well as friends and relatives, and a number of people who came out to cheer on the athletes.

That’s it for this week…good curling  


Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news in your community by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Subscribe to Email Alerts

Enter your email address to subscribe to Email Alerts and receive notifications of new posts by email whenever The Leader publishes new content on our website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply