Kurtis Barkley, one under for fourth consecutive victory


Cedar Glen golfer, Kurtis Barkley shot a one under par 69 here Saturday, to successfully defend his Morrisburg Men’s Open title for the fourth consecutive year.

The 24 year old, Williamsburg golfer, who this year is playing out of both Cedar Glen and Upper Canada, recently qualified in the Chase the Dream event with a three-over-par 75 shot at Upper Canada.

At the qualifier he wasn’t satisfied with his putting, so he has since changed to a belly putter, and the results showed up in the 69 he shot at Morrisburg, on Saturday.

The Morrisburg course is experiencing major issues with several greens which made Saturday’s putting difficult for the 63 golfers.

“I had 31 putts today, which is below my average,” said Barkley who opened his round with a pair of bogies. Although the par five first hole is one of the troubled Morrisburg greens, Barkley said he couldn’t fault the green for the opening six. “It was actually a one-putt bogie,” he said with a laugh. The bogie four on the par three second hole, also not in good condition, was, however, the result of a three putt.

After that the talented young golfer charged back with three consecutive birdies to go to one under and that’s how he finished it on the front, with a one under 34.

On the back, Barkley stayed at one under until a three putt on the par five 15th pushed him to even.

He got the stroke back with a birdie on the par three 17th and finished the round at 69 for his fourth consecutive championship.

Next up in the 19-player A flight was Rob Kimmerly (Prescott) with a 73. Upper Canada golfer, Lance Lepage was third with a 74 and Matt Rochon was next at 75.

Morrisburg’s Kevin Duvall shot a 76 which gave him the A field’s low net with a 67, and Dave Saunders (Brockville) was next with a 77. The final two golfers to break 80, in A flight, were Peter Gilder (Brockville) and Brett Corlyon (Cornwall) with 79s.

Sixty-three golfers competed in three flights in this year’s men’s open.

The top shooter in B flight, for the second consecutive year, was Lee Beaupre (Morrisburg) with a 77. Last year Beaupre shot a 78 to tie for the top B flight position but lost in a playoff.

This year he took the title by a single stroke over Bruce Perrin of Prescott. The two were the only B flight shooters to break 80.

Coming in with an 80 for third place was Scott Hodgson of Morrisburg. Eric Wemerman, Morrisburg and Randy Mullin, Iroquois were next with 81s. Wemerman’s 81 gave him a net score of 63 for the flight’s low net win.

Greg Millard (Morrisburg) and Allan McNairn (Upper Canada) were next up, tied with 83s.

For the second consecutive year, a playoff was required to determine the C flight winner. Jason Broad and Dan McLelland, both of Morrisburg, shot 87s for the tie and the latter took the win in sudden death play.

Doug Warner (Morrisburg) was next up with an 88 and after that, the scores went into the 90s with Sean Boulerice and Steve Boucher (both Morrisburg) tied with 91s.


Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news in your community by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Subscribe to Email Alerts

Enter your email address to subscribe to Email Alerts and receive notifications of new posts by email whenever The Leader publishes new content on our website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply