Curling Season Heating Up

Two Morrisburg rinks competed at the annual Merkley bonspiel against teams from Metcalfe, Russell and Winchester. 

Joe McCooeye, John Allison, Wally Baker and Al Harriman lost tight matches in the day-long event and did not make it to the championship round in the evening. 

Our other team, Robert Houze, Larry Cooper, Chris Barkley and Rick MacKenzie lost their morning match against Hogaboam from Winchester, and then took on Russell’s Charrette in the afternoon. Our fellows were victorious, and after the banquet, they were matched against Lagace of Russell in the “B” championship. 

Robert’s team won, and brought home the Bruce MacDonald Shield, on proud display at our club for the next year at least. Steve Dunne of Metcalfe won the other final. Well done, men!

Two teams of senior men were in Metcalfe last week for the Sullivan Bonspiel. Sid Morrell, Jack Barkley, Rick MacKenzie and George Rutley won their preliminary matches against Metcalfe and Winchester, and advanced to the final. 

Pete Zeran, Andy Patenaude, Doug Jarvis and Bud Perry defeated a Russell foursome and the other Winchester quartet. You’ll never guess what two teams met for the championship. That’s right. It was an epic, if friendly battle, but Sid Morrell triumphed over Pete Zeran for bragging rights this time. One of the Russell teams had the second-best record on the day.

Our Little Rocks curlers competed in the Big Four Tournament in Russell. They did well, finishing as “A” finalists. Congratulations to Martina and Kyra Lewis, Ewan Wilson, Aiden White, Nolan Belanger, Tommy Derikz, Abby MacPhail and James Winter. They just missed out on bringing home the trophy. Ian Wilson our Little Rocks coordinator mentions that our folks went an extra end before losing to the Russell reps, who were 12 years of age, compared to our curlers, who were seven, eight, nine, 10 and 11 year-olds.

    They also played in the Ran Wylie bonspiel in Winchester, finishing third and eighth out of 12 teams. Ewan Wilson’s foursome finished with a 2-1 record for third place in their pool. Team members were Jonathon Charrette, Emily Macpherson and James Winters. The second team of Aiden Whyte, Martina and Kyra Lewis and Christian Keeler also finished as runners-up in the Big Four.

On March 1st, Ewan Wilson, Aiden White, Martina Lewis and Nolan Belanger are in the Zone 1 playdowns in Navan. Good luck, folks! Let us know how it turns out.

What with the Scotties last week, and the Brier, beginning this weekend, it’s a great time for armchair curlers. 

Congratulations to our Ottawa reps in the women’s championships. After winning as Canadian champions, they play the world’s other national victors soon. We wish them well, and offer a vote of thanks to a certain official we noted on the ice from time to time, measuring rocks to determine winners in certain ends. 

Allan Brunt, who still curls locally, is a long-time official at the provincial and national levels, and we thank him for his service to the extended curling fraternity. His family has a long history of dedication to the sport at the local levels as well.Good curling to all!


Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news in your community by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Subscribe to Email Alerts

Enter your email address to subscribe to Email Alerts and receive notifications of new posts by email whenever The Leader publishes new content on our website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply