Last Spin of 2012 for Morrisburg Figure Skaters


It was a night to recall a great season at the Morrisburg and District Figure Skating Club.

 It was also a night dedicated to honouring the young skaters who put in the hours and months of hard work and practice necessary to hone their skills.

On Sunday, April 22, the executive of the Skating Club, coaches, parents and skaters gathered at the Morrisburg Legion for their year end awards  banquet. There was also the additional treat for guests of a DVD highlighting the year’s events.

President of the Morrisburg and District Skating Club, Julie VanHoof, welcomed the guests and thanked them for their participation.

“There are many challenges in running a successful club,” she said, “but with the support of the executive, the board, committee chairs, coaches and parents, we had another year to be proud of.”

She singled out the efforts of volunteers, who “came through when needed to help with carnival, or to donate food. Your dedication is much appreciated.”

She also had great praise for “our wonderful and amazing coaches. We are very fortunate to have such dedicated and caring coaches working with our young skaters to help them to achieve their goals.’

VanHoof also thanked the parents for their encouragement and support.

She concluded her address with these words to the skaters.

“Every skater has different goals and each of you has worked hard to reach your personal goals. Tonight we are proud to be rewarding you for your accomplishments and achievements.

Next year many changes to our programs will be implemented through Skate Canada, but the continued support of everyone here makes no doubt that Morrisburg and District Skating Club will continue to grow and to be successful.”

Special good-byes and best wishes were extended to long time skaters Jessica Thompson and Katherine Lee, who leave for university in the fall. 

The Morrisburg Club was particularly proud this year to present gold skills and gold free skate honours to Alyssa MacMillan and to Alisha VanHoof. Gold represents success at the highest levels of testing and  notes singular achievement on the part of the young recipients.

The 2011-12 CanSkater of the Year was Marin Morrow, while  CanSkate Spirit Awards were given to Sarah Stewart and to Ella Mallett-Seymour.

Awards in preliminary dance went to Reagan Belanger, Trina Dykstra-MacPherson and Erika Jordan.

The CanSkate Program Assistant award was presented to Brenna German.

Jr. Bronze Dance was presented to Kendra Buter, Abigail Jordan, Kathleen Nicolaassen and Kaitlyn Stewart.

Jr. Silver Dance was awarded to Alisha VanHoof.

Preliminary Skills were presented to Reagan Belanger, Cameryn Broad, Alice Cameron an Abigail Jordan, while Bronze Skills were given to Alexis Engwarda, Abby MacMillan, Tayler Pilon and Kaitlyn Stewart.

Introductive interpretive honours were presented to Jessica Bass, Katherine Lee and Kathleen Nicolaassen. Katherine Lee and Alisha VanHoof took awards in bronze interpretive.

Preliminary Free Skate saw Kendra Buter, Trina Dykstra-McPerson and Abigail Jordan awarded. In Jr.Bronze Free Skate, Alexis Engwarda, Abby MacMillan and Kristyn VanHoof  were honoured. 

Gillian Beatson took Sr. Silver Free Skate. 

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news in your community by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Subscribe to Email Alerts

Enter your email address to subscribe to Email Alerts and receive notifications of new posts by email whenever The Leader publishes new content on our website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply