Second straight Tubie win for Team Lee

Rough waters and strong winds could not hold back the Lee team from their second straight win at the 46th annual Tubie race July 31st.

Consisting of Katherine Lee, Matt Vanmoorsel, Nancy Lee, Allison Lee, Robert Farlinger, Andy Lee, Robert Jordan, Isabella Jordan, and Sarah Dickey, the team finished the four kilometre race in 36 minutes, 2 seconds.

The team pulled ahead of the pack in the early third of the race as they rounded the point at Mariatown. 

Finishing second, exactly three minutes behind, was the team captained by Jennifer Wilson and Lauren Keyes with a time of 39 minutes, 2 seconds. Third place went to the team lead by Gareth Cochrane with a final time of 44 minutes, 4 seconds.

The nine team race started approximately 25 minutes behind the scheduled 12 noon start. With exception of a crew member falling off the Wilson-Keyes tubie boat near the start of the race, there were no incidents on the river.

To read the rest of this story, pick up a copy of the Morrisburg Leader at your local news stand.

To view photos online from the Tubie Race, visit our Facebook page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply