IPS says goodbye to 33 grade six grads


aff at Iroquois Public School last Tuesday, June 21 to help the 33 graduating grade 6 students celebrate their achievements and wish them well as they head off in the fall to the Intermediate (grade 7-8) program at Seaway District High School.

This year’s Grade 6 graduating class included: Paislee Allen, Ryley Ault, Rhiannon Beckstead, Nolan Belanger, Dryden Buter, Olivia Chafe, Paige Cutler, Ethan Froats, Maeryn Gilmour, SheeAhn Hunter, Taylin Hunter, Ryan Hyderman-Sidel, Rachel Jamieson, Luka Kalinovic, Stefan Kronstal, Victoria Lough, Olivia Luimes, Abigail Mason, Chloe McLean, Olivia Mudde, Jorja Piquette, Bronson Richmire, Emma Shaver, Kyla Shaver, Valerie Sullivan, Jada Tackaberry, Ryan Thompson, Rebekah Tibben, Emma Turner, Hunter Tyo, Keaton Urquhart, Colin Verbruggen and Dominic Worthington.

The graduation evening began with a welcome from Iroquois Principal Sarita Anderson. She described the members of the graduating class as “wonderful young people, socially and academically. I do wish you all the best over at Seaway. Remember to strive and reach for your dreams…and always work hard.”

Master of ceremonies for the evening was Chantal Lacroix. 

Guests included Seaway District High School principal Don Lewis and UCDSB Trustee J. Armer (Ward 7).

Lewis welcomed the grads to Seaway. “I would like to congratulate all of you on your successes here at Iroquois Public School. As you come to Seaway, continue to strive for success. We look forward to welcoming all of you and seeing what you have to contribute to Seaway over the next few years.”

After each of the students was presented certificates, individual award winners were named.

Described as a “quiet ambassador for IPS” and one who always displays “spirit and is a responsible, good-natured student who can be counted on at all times” Stefan Kronstal received the Ontario Principal’s Council Award from principal Anderson.

“This person always exemplifies fabulous character,” said trustee Jeremy Armer as he presented The Upper Canada District School Board Character Always Award to Jada Tackaberry.

The remaining awards presented were: Upper Canada Granite Stand-Up Against Bullying Award to Nolan Belanger; School Council Spirit Award to Emma Turner; Seaway Plaza Foodland Best All-Around Student Jorja Piquette; Jay Merkley Memorial Citizenship Award to Paige Cutler; Overcoming Obstacles to Olivia Luimes and Kyla Shaver; Phyllis Fisher Compassion Award to Chloe McLean and Dryden Buter.

Principal Henderson announced that a new Award for Courage will be presented in memory of IPS teacher Kelly Buter who passed away May 31, following a courageous battle with cancer.

“This school has been very blessed to have had Kelly Buter,” said Henderson. “We plan to proudly remember her courage next year.”

During the ceremony, Henderson also thanked “all parents who volunteer whatever time you have and thank you to our absolutely fantastic school council.”

Recognized for her longtime career at the school and “for caring for the kids as if they were her own” was retiring teacher Margaret Phifer. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply