Curlers wrap it with festive Christmas Spiel


Saturday the Morrisburg Curling Club held its Christmas Bonspiel, followed by a turkey dinner with all the trimmings.

The early draw saw Doug Tupper, Neil Williams, Alice Thompson and Nick Tupper emerge victorious. In the late draw, Wendy Casselman, Joan MacKinnon, Claire Locke and Liz Locke-Dickey took top honours. 

In calculating prize money for the winners, club president Mahlon Locke, our M.C. for the event, indicated the winners of the early draw finished first, with the late draw champs second, by virtue of a better point total. Congratulations to both winners, and to all who took part. 

Special thanks to Greta McGann and her committee, who provided a good lunch, and an incredible turkey dinner. The old lounge was filled to bursting as were the curlers and guests. There were draws for several prizes, and we had the rest of the evening to recover. 

As always, ice technician Wally Baker, and his helpers, provided top-notch ice. We renewed acquaintances with some we hadn’t seen for awhile, and took in the beautiful job by our Christmas decorating committee. Events like this take a great deal of planning, and many people were hard at work before and during the event in this regard. We are grateful for the effort they put in.

Susan McIntosh is holding her next two-person bonspiel Sunday, January 3rd. Sign up in the lounge if you are interested.

The ice will be flooded over the Christmas holiday, and one holiday rental has been scheduled so far. Check with our president if you would like to rent the club or the ice for an event.

 Apologies to our readers! I recently upgraded my computer from Windows 7 to 10, and some of my problems were evident last week. The corrections follow in the next paragraph.

Last Saturday, Greta McGann, Joan McKinnon, Kathy Killick and Linda Murphy played in the Women’s Curling Association Challenge, held in Metcalfe. They won their first game against Navy. They played in the “A” division in the afternoon against Granite and curled well, but couldn’t overcome a 6-5 deficit in the final end. This eliminated them from further play, and the “A” and “B” division winners played off last Sunday for the division titles.

The Tuesday evening men’s league has completed play for the Calvert Trophy, and we congratulate the winners, Jack Barkley, Ron Beaupre and Rick McKenzie.

We have teams from Beavers who curl on Tuesday nights as well, and we’re very happy to have them here with us.

December 11th saw three Cornwall teams here for the senior men’s friendly bonspiel. Our teams were Andy Patenaude, Ron Beaupre, Eric Johnson and Rick Astley, followed by Sam Locke, Keith Robinson and Earl Jeacle, as well as Peter Zeran, Len Bellamy, Peter Byvelds and Larry Ware. 

The Zeran foursome dropped a tight one, while our other two teams emerged victorious. A good lunch and good stories were enjoyed by all, and the visitors headed home, while some of our fellows had to go back out onto the ice for a league game. Retirement certainly is rough.

That’s it for now. Good curling to all!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply