St. Lawrence Acoustic Stage names new board members


“We have welcomed two new members on to our board,” said Sandra Whitworth of the St. Lawrence Acoustic Stage, “and we are delighted that Anna and Eric have joined us.” Eric Pietersma and Anna Boisvenue have joined the three current SLAS board members, as the outstanding 2015 season at the Stage continues. “Anna has a background in accounting and Eric has legal expertise and so they expand the skill set on the board in a range of important areas. We started a planning process a year-and-a-half ago to try to begin to move from  an operational board to a more properly governance board,” Whitworth said. With artists like the Young Novelists, Harry Manx, Chick Gamine and Madison Violet coming to the Stage this winter and spring, the volunteer members of the board are hard-working and clearly dedicated to bringing great music to South Dundas. Some of the musicians who perform at the Stage have also led workshops with elementary children at the Akwasasne Mohawk School. One of the SLAS board’s long term goals is to make such outstanding workshops in many types of music available to other students in the South Dundas area. Pictured, l-r, are board members Eric Pietersma, Derek Hunter, Sandra Whitworth, Tony McCadden and Anna Boisvenue. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply