Barkley, Boivin Club Champions at Morrisburg


Despite cold, heavy rain, and the decision to stop play on Saturday, Kirk Barkley and Vicki Boivin hung in to claim the 2014 Morrisburg Golf Club’s men’s and ladies’ championships on the weekend.

Barkley charged out of the men’s B flight  for his win, while Boivin put together 18-hole rounds of 93-86 for her 11th club championship win, her ninth consecutive.

The heavy rains on Saturday were a big factor in this year’s club championship. The ladies had the early start and had to call it a day late in the round. They finished up their four holes Sunday morning, took a break and then headed out for the second 18 hole round.

For the men who had the late Saturday tee-off, the weather forced them to call it after nine holes. For the championship they counted their nine holes played Saturday, and the 18 hole round on Sunday.

A flight’s Blake Barry had the lead after Saturday’s nine with a 39, while Barkley was three strokes back in B flight with a 42. Barry posted a 78 in Sunday’s play for a 117 total, while Barkley added a 74, for a 116 which gave him the men’s championship.

Defending 2013 champ, Ron Lapier did not play. 

The ladies B flight was highly contested with Linda Barclay claiming the win on retrogression.

Barclay, for her fourth consecutive B championship, posted rounds of 103-96 for a 199 total. Her effort was matched by Judy Laurin who posted 101-98, for a 199 total.

That forced a one-hole sudden death playoff between the two, and after three sudden deaths and still tied, the two agreed to go to retrogression to decide a winner. That gave Barclay, with her 48 front nine score, the win over Laurin, by one stroke.

The ladies section C flight, was not contested and the winner of the D flight championship was Candace Jamieson with 118-123.

In mens play, after Barkley at 116, and Barry at 117 the low shooters, both in B flight were Lee Beaupre at 120 and Don Mabo at 133.

Beaupre got the nod for the senior club champion with his nine hole 43 added to a 77 on Sunday, and Mabo won the B championship, for the second consecutive year (45-88).

In C flight, Bob Barclay and Doug Warner finished tied with 140s. Barclay shot a 48 Saturday and added a 92, while Warner posted a 50 Saturday and added a 90 on Sunday.

Using retrogression Barclay won the C flight championship for the second consecutive year.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply