Border League win for Prescott


Just 16 shots separated the top two finishers at the 2014 Border League Golf Competition played at the Prescott Golf Club on Sunday.

The 10-man Prescott team used the home turf to their advantage to claim the 2014 championship with just 678 strokes, while the Cornwall Country Club placed second with 694.

Settling into third were the Brockville Country Club shooters with 705 strokes while St. Lawrence (Canton) was fourth with 720. Gananoque posted 749 strokes, Smiths Falls 763, Partridge Run (Canton) 810 and Morrisburg 811.

The prestigious non-handicapped stroke play Border League competition has been running since 1947, when the Mercury Lincoln trophy was won by Ogdensburg.

It consists of 10-player teams, eight regular, and one senior and one junior aged player. The best nine of 10 scores are used.

Prescott had some great individual play on Sunday, with two team member winning low gross categories. 

This year’s low gross was shot by Prescott’s Kyle Lavery with a two-under-par 68, while Prescott senior Claude Labranche posted  a 69. The low junior score was shot by Zeren Tuna of Brockville with a 71.

Winning in the non-team player categories were Brockville’s Jack Laforty for Low Director and Prescott’s Jim Duncan for low president (net score).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply