The 19th Hole


The last putts have been made on the weekly ladies and men’s nights at the Morrisburg Golf Club, to end a good season for both.

The ladies got their final wrap-up tournament played on the last full day of summer on Saturday, a day that was certainly making way for autumn.

The rains arrived just as the ladies teed off at 11 a.m. and continued throughout play, but says ladies club captain Monique Patenaude . it did not deter the players. They all completed their 18 holes  and we finished our year with a wonderful turkey dinner.

Fifty golfers participated in Saturday’s final ladies scramble, and for the second consecutive year the team of Lori-Anne Davies, Shannon Casselman and Judy Laurin (minus Stephenie Cochrane this year) won the “bragging trophy”. This year they earned the right to “brag” with a two under par 70.

Patenaude thanked the day’s sponsors who were Jim Annable/Chevron Construction and Dave Cassell/Strader Motor Sales.

“We have to thank all of our ladies night sponsors who were so very generous,” says Patenaude. “And also, many thanks to all the players who made our ladies nights so successful.”

This year’s ladies nights averaged 48 participants.  Winner of a free membership for 2014 was Gisele Hooles and the ZMAX pull cart was won by Susan Whyte.

The final ladies evening play was completed last Wednesday, September 18 with 48 golfers participating. The highlight of the evening was the “Price is Right” game with Bobette Barker (aka Monique Patenaude). 

The men held their men’s night finale tournament on Saturday, September 14 with 64 golfers participating.

Blake Barry was the 18-hole A low gross winner with a 75, Larry Cooper won B flight with an 85 (retro) and Garry O’Neill won C flight with a 91.  Net winners were Lee Beaupre in A flight, Allan Patterson in B flight and Pietre Ozinga in C flight.

Winners selected their prizes from a final prize table valued at $3,500.

Picking up prizes for the closest to the pin shots on the par threes were Ron Lapier #2 and #8, Blake Barry #5, Allan Patterson #11, Donald Black #14 and Dave McClenaghan #17. 

In addition a draw was made for a Morrisburg Golf Club 2014 membership and that was won by Dave McClenaghan.

Also wrapping up was the season-long men’s night team event. Participants paid an entry at the start of the season and those participants were then divided into four teams (nine players per team) whose scores were tracked each week.

At the end of the final men’s night on September 12, two teams were tied, so the back nine of the final Saturday, September 14 tournament was put to use to end the deadlock. That didn’t do the trick and so a rep from each team was selected to putt on behalf of their team.

Representing their teams were Blake Barry and Lee Beaupre, upon whose shoulders was place the weight of the entire summer golfing season. Both lined up at the front of the ninth green to place their putt closest to the hole. Barry came to within 12 inches and Beaupre got to within six for the win.

The winning team consisted of Beaupre, Bryan Cochrane, Larry Gallinger, Barry Henderson, Andy Patenaude, Scott Robinson, Derek Thain, Eric Wemerman and Danny Youmelle.

Finishing second were Wally Baker, Blake Barry, Donnie Mabo, Mick Mabo, Dave McClenaghan, Pieter Ozinga, Bruce St. John, Jim Tuttle and Bob Youmelle.

Club captain Andy Patenaude, said the 2013 men’s nights were extremely successful, and he thanked the many evening sponsors.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply