Kurtis one under, but Summer Heights wins


The Cedar Glen Men’s Valley League team got a huge boost from their A flight players, in particular Kurtis Barkley who shot a one under par 71 at the Sandy Row Golf Course here Saturday, but in the end it wasn’t enough for the defending 2012 team champs.

The 14-player Summer Heights team was the best for the day in the competition with a 1,237 stroke total to second place Cedar Glen’s 1,245 strokes.

The Morrisburg Golf Club team finished third with 1,262 shots, Iroquois was fourth with 1,273 and the hosting Sandy Row team posted 1,284 shots.

The top shooter for the Summer Heights champs was 14-year-old, Ty Celone (zero handicapper) who posted an even par 72 playing in the junior position.

The top A flight shooter for the Summer Heights team was Bob Johnson with a 78. Marcel Marion and Lew Stanley added 83s and Gilles Marion had a 90.

Bruce Smith led the B flight charge with an 87 followed by Marc Leroux at 88 and Bobby Deschamps and Greg Plumadore tied with 91s.

Yvon Lemire was strong in C flight with a 92, Gerry Menard and Dan Mano posted 94s and Gerry Sabourin shot a 104.

Senior player, Dan Julien carded a 90.

For his one under par 71, Kurtis Barkley was presented the Millard Trophy.

The Sports Unlimited Trophy for the low gross in B flight was won by Gary Breyer of Morrisburg with an 82, and Kevin Barkley of Sandy Row shot an 85, to win the Summer Heights Fun Night trophy for low gross in C flight.

Sandy Row golfers made a clean sweep of the individual net flight trophies.

Brad Mayhew won the A low net Julien Supply Trophy, (shooting a 75 for a 67 net), Roger Frances won the Cedar Glen B net trophy (89-69 net) and Gord Kelso won the Hugh Hutchison C flight net trophy (95-70 net).

Kelso won the net award on retrogression over Bob Youmelle of Morrisburg who shot a 90 for a 70 net.

Celone was presented the Highlands trophy for low junior with his even par 72, and J.P. St. Pierre of Cedar Glen won the Tom and Jean Parker Trophy for low senior with a 79.

The Men’s Valley League competition also includes play in three non-team categories. Net winners here were Sean Boulerice of Morrisburg in the VIP spot, Bruce Cowell of Sandy Row in the President spot and Rick MacKenzie of Iroquois in the Club Captain category.

The Cedar Glen team received a solid performance from their A flight players. Adding to Kurtis Barkley’s 71 were Dave Bird with a 76, Rick Barkley with a 79 and Mark Alexander with an 85.

Barry Casselman led the Cedar Glen B flight with an 83, Larry Harper posted an 87, Terry Barkley an 89 and Steve Plummer a 96.

Larry Barlow was the Glen’s low C flight shooter with a 98, Steve Wells shot 100, Michael Hunt 102 and Peter Van Kessel a 110. 

Senior, J.P. St. Pierre added a 79 and junior, Liam Morrow a 90.

The top shooter for Morrisburg was  Lindsay Weegar in A flight with an 80. Gary Breyer had an 82 in B flight and Bob Youmelle was the low in C flight with a 90.

Les Gilmour led Iroquois’ A flight with a 78. Kent McDermid led B flight with an 86 and Les Craig led C flight with a 94. Rick MacKenzie’s 92 also counted in the Iroquois C flight when a regular player was forced to pull out due to illness.

Top shooters for Sandy Row were Brad Mayhew 75 in A flight, Roger Francis 89 in B flight and Kevin Barkley 85 in C flight.

The Summer Heights team collected the W.D. MacLennan Team trophy for the win. The Sandy Row team had low team net with 1,051. Morrisburg was next with 1,056.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply