Morrisburg Skaters at Prescott Future Skaters


Morrisburg and District Figure Skating Club skaters achieved some good results at the Prescott Future Stars Competition held on the weekend of January 26-27.

The Future Stars Competition featured three events which included the Canskate Challenge Element, Canskate Team Element and Freeskate.

The Canskate Element Challenge focused on individual skill development and performances and are not ranked.

Each skater received a certificate which indicated their overall performance level which runs gold, silver, bronze and merit.

The award level is based on the assessment of four individual elements performed by each skater.

The elements are pre-determined and are based on a skater’s stage level.

The Canskate Team Elements is set up using the same format, but as the name implies, more than one skater is involved.

Freeskate events were skated by skaters at pre-preliminary and preliminary skating levels.

The Morrisburg Club had four skaters skating in Preliminary Freeskate. 

They were Kendra Buter, Trina Dykstra-MacPherson, Abigail Jordan and Kaitlyn Stewart.

Leading their charge were Dykstra-Macpherson and Jordan both with gold medal wins.

Seven Morrisburg and District skaters skated onto the Prescott ice for the Pre-Preliminary Freeskates.

They included Alice Cameron, Ashley Bouwman, Cameryn Broad, Olivia Hart, Katie Buter, Reagan Belanger and Erika Jordan.

Cameron Broad scored the lone gold medal in Pre-Preliminary, while Olivia Hart and Katie Buter posted solid skates to earn silver medals. 

Reagan Belanger collected a bronze medal, while Alice Cameron and Erika Jordan collected fourth place finishes and Ashley Bouwman a fifth.

Thirteen Morrisburg and District skaters laced up their skates for the Canskate Element Challenge and Team Element skates.  

In the individual Element Challenge Stage 4, Jessica Groves topped the chart skating to a gold level certificate.

Shianne Johnston collected a silver level certificate while bronze certificates were presented to Marin Morrow, Olivia Chafe, Sarah Stewart and Abigail Smail. Lily Napier collected a merit certificate.

At the stage five level Madisyn Hart had a solid performance and landed a gold level certificate. Her teammates, Hannah Biemond and Gracie Fairbairn skated to bronze level certificates.

Xandra Furo earned a silver certificate at the Canskate Element Challenge stage six level, while Mikaela Furo and Abby Smith both picked up bronze level certificates.

Gracie Fairbairn and Madisyn Hart put it together for a first place performance in stage five team elements.

Sarah Stewart and Abigail Smail placed fourth in stage five team elements while Shianne Johnson, Lilly Napier and Jessica Groves were fifth in Stage 5 Team Elements.

In stage four team elements Marin Morrow and Olivia Chafe placed sixth.

Skaters with the Morrisburg and Club are now preparing for the very busy month of February.Coming up is the annual Interclub Competition, this year being held in Smiths Falls. A number of skaters are also preparing for EOSIC from February 15-17.

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply