Local Diamond Jubilee recipients announced

A handful of South Dundas residents are among the 30 residents of Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarrry who will be receiving a special decoration on December 9th.

Monday, SDSG Member of Parliament, Guy Lauzon, announced the names of local community leaders who have been selected as recipients of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

“We were overwhelmed with the response to nominations and the number of worthy candidates for the Medals,” said MP Lauzon. 

“We are so blessed to live in such a great community and country. These individuals have truly made a difference and are excellent examples of leaders and Canadians who make us proud.”

The following SDSG residents were named as recipients: Joan Farlinger, Doug Grenkie, Dr. Graham Houze, Trevor Tolley, Helen Tupper, Sean Adams, Bill Bresee, Pastor Thurland Brown, Jim Brownell, Wayne Burns, Father Bernard Cameron, Shirley Coons, Mamie David, Rose Desnoyers, Barbara Ann Glaude, Ernie Filion, Ken Heagle, Sandy Lalonde, Rachelle Lamond, Gilles Latour, Rick Marvell, Dr. Mary Randlett, Gerald Samson, Josee Sauve, Rick Shaver, Sue Tarle, Theresa Taylor, Karen Torrie-Racine, Sandy Weagant and Miriam Wheeler.

A new commemorative medal was created to mark the 2012 celebrations to mark the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. 

The Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal is a tangible way for Canada to honour Her Majesty for her service to this country. At the same time, it serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians. A formal ceremony to present the honors will take place on Sunday, December 9th at the St. Andrews Catholic Church in St. Andrew’s West. The event will begin at 1:30 pm and is open to the public to attend.

Since you’re here…

… Thanks for reading this article. Local news is important. We hope that you continue to support local news by reading The Leader, online and in print. Please consider subscribing to the print edition of the newspaper. Click here to subscribe today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply